Touring in June 2022

Landscape fit_image

‘This house isn’t unfit for habitation. We’re inhabiting it. It’s been habitated for 100 years!’

1951 saw a third of County Durham’s villages classified as ‘D’. They were no longer deemed worthy of investment and were expected to die quietly. But they wouldn’t.

A Way Home is a new play rooted in the stories and memories of the very people who called those D villages home. A County-wide fight lasting over 25 years becomes a 12-month journey at Bet’s kitchen table as she confronts what loss really looks like.

With humour, tenderness and not a small amount of grit, A Way Home speaks of fighting to be heard when no one’s listening, telling a story just as significant today as it was 70 years ago.

Tuesday 7th June 7.30pm Gala Theatre
Wednesday 8th June 7.30pm Queen’s Hall Arts Centre
Thursday 9th June 7.30pm Arts Centre Washington
Friday 10th June 7.30pm Live Theatre
Saturday 11th June 2.30pm
7.30pm
Live Theatre
Monday 13th June 7.00pm St Mark’s Church
Tuesday 14th June 2:00pm
7.30pm
Alnwick Playhouse
Wednesday 15th June 7.00pm Trimdon Grange Community Association
Thursday 16th June 7.30pm Binchester Community Centre
Friday 17th June 7.00pm Hamsteels Community Centre
Saturday 18th June 3.00pm St. John’s Hall Meadowfield
Monday 20th June 7.00pm Toft Hill Community Centre
Tuesday 21st June 7.00pm Hamsterley & Low Westwood Community Hall
Wednesday 22nd June 7.30pm The Witham
Thursday 23rd June 2:00pm
7.30pm
Ushaw Historic House, Chapels and Gardens
Friday 24th June 7.00pm Clara Vale Village Hall
Saturday 25th June 7.00pm Coundon & Leeholme Community Centre
Sunday 26th June 7:00pm Witton Park Village Hall

The Covid-19 pandemic meant that, like so many other projects, A Way Home was put on hold. After a long two year wait, we are thrilled to be sharing the show with you at last. A huge thank you for your patience and to our funders (Arts Council England, Sunday for Sammy, Catherine Cookson Trust and Newcastle University) for their support. 

In the meantime, to see what happened during our Research and Development in January 2019, take a look here.

ACE Logo